CRC Office of Social Justice and Office of Race Relations Statement on the Expanded Travel Ban

News broke on Friday, Jan. 31 that the Trump administration is expanding its Travel Ban for immigrants. The countries included in both the the previous bans and the expansion are majority non-white and have substantial Muslim populations: Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, North Korea, Venezuela, and now Nigeria, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar (Burma), Sudan, and Tanzania.

This discriminatory policy change separates families, perpetuates harmful xenophobic narratives, and creates confusion and fear among immigrant communities - both in the U.S. and abroad.

We lament the announcement of yet another barrier to fulfill our synodical mandate to “be welcoming toward the strangers in [our] midst” and “engage in policy development and advocacy strategies that will lead to immigration reform and the enactment of fair, just, and equitable laws.”

In spite of this, we will continue to seek efforts to welcome the stranger without fear and suspicion. We will continue to advocate for policies that reflect the biblical calling to love our neighbor (1 John 4:20-21).

Contact your representative and oppose the new travel ban today!


Travel Ban Infographic